Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award: Q & A, My Nominees

I’m honored Jocelyn at Speaking of China nominated me for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award. Speaking of China and Jocelyn have been a tremendous resource and support system for me; I even guest posted not once but twice! Too many of her posts have resonated with me, however there is one in particular that, unfortunately, I do not feel comfortable linking here. Jocelyn, if you read this, I am sure you will know the post in question. Thank you…

How did you come up with the name for your blog?

Xiananigans came about from trying to find a playful way to put into words all the goings on of living and working in Xi’an. The blog is now self-titled as I also host my portfolio and multi-media side projects currently in the works.

What do you find most challenging about blogging?

Keeping an editorial calendar consistently from week-to-week, and month-to-month. I get these spurts of brilliance, or enjoy joining monthly blogging/writing challenges.

What do you do when you aren’t working on your blog?

When I’m not working on the blog, I am freelance reporting for a hyperlocal, slinging coffee part-time, and looking for life’s next challenge.

Everyone has a favorite post. Name yours and tell us why it is your favorite.

The tales of our engagement is by far my favorite post, (fun to write and even more delightful to look back on) and includes a video ZJ put together of the soiree. It’s also my favorite because I love being reminded of how I really did marry a hopeless romantic 😄.

What do you consider the best part of your day?

Spending time with ZJ, alone, uninterrupted. We might be partaking in our own things, on separate computers, sitting idly while the other preps a meal, playing basketball, or catching glimpses at one another while working out at the gym. It really matters very little what we are doing.

What is the biggest difference in your life post-blogging?

I’m much better at expressing myself on digital paper, and since repatriating, my husband’s support for using the blog as a creative outlet and tool to hone my writing craft has skyrocketed (he was always supportive, but now he proposes post ideas, occasionally selects photos, and even proofreads 👍).

Share with us one of your favorite books, and why you like it.

One of my favorite books just so happens to be Tracy Slater’s The Good Shufu. It brought me to tears, delighted me from a wordsmith’s standpoint, causing me to erupt in laughter, and my husband ZJ can attest to that as fact since I read most of the memoir prior to drifting off to sleep. I’ll finally be posting a review of it this month.

What do you think would make the world a better place?

More genuine concern for others would make this world a better place. There’s a real lack of respect casting an evil shadow over interpersonal relationships, and it comes down to this isolationistic attitude permeating American culture, rearing its ugly head. Let’s make this world a better place by remembering the sanctity of uniqueness and respecting differences, heck, even celebrating said differences!

Although I do not want those nominated to feel obligated to respond to the award as Jocelyn already nominated some of them, a AMWF sisterhood does exist, thus I would like to recognize:

My personal nominees not yet recognized, and tasked with answering my ten questions:

Here are the questions I’d love for nominees to answer:

  1. How did you come up with the name for your blog?
  2. What do you find most rewarding about blogging?
  3. What do you do when you aren’t working on your blog?
  4. Everyone has a favorite post. Name yours and tell us why it is your favorite.
  5. What do you consider the best part of your day?
  6. What’s your fondest blogging memory?
  7. Tell us about your blogging process.
  8. What is the biggest difference in your life post-blogging?
  9. Share with us one of your favorite books, and why you like it.
  10. What do you think would make the world a better place?

Check out the NaNoBloPoMo challenge so far: 

Keep up with Xiananigans on Bloglovin and Facebook

Find me on FacebookTwitterGoogle +PinterestLinkedInTumblrInstagramWeibo.

21 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award: Q & A, My Nominees

Leave a Reply

