A series of things: part one

This entry is the first of a three part series where I’ll discuss things: things I miss about home, things I won’t miss about Xi’an and China, as well as things I will miss. These lists are by no means exhaustive, and the items are not in any order of significance .

Things I miss about home:
My friends and family
All-you-can-eat sushi restaurants
New York City
Free Fekkai haircuts or color
Cheese
Blue Moon/Sam Adams
The town library
Free Movie Tuesdays
Starbucks (I have it here on occasion but for some reason my order never tastes quite right)
Eating on the deck
Corn-on-the-cob
Dad’s grilled steaks
Arugula salads
Soy Milk or Almond Milk
Costco
Updating my Nook
Driving (I’ll also miss walking everywhere or taking public transport in China)
Faster pace of life
Easily grabbing a cup of coffee on the go
Bagels, lox, and cream cheese
Celebrating the Jewish holidays
Thanksgiving

If living abroad, what do you miss most about home?

5 thoughts on “A series of things: part one

  1. Sasha says:

    agree with your list, and here are some reiterations/other things I miss:

    -NYC
    -family and friends
    -regular English conversation without slowing down speech or rephrasing things
    -SALADS
    -grilled chicken
    -bagels
    -coffee yogurt
    -being able to run on the street and it wouldn’t be weird
    -fast-paced pop music
    -things not being dusty or dirty x)

  2. chinaelevatorstories says:

    For me it’s exactly the other way around – Shenzhen has definitely a faster way of life than most places in Austria. I don’t mind slowing down from time to time though. I’ve been to all-you-can-eat sushi restaurants in China. Maybe they aren’t as common as they are in some other parts of the world, but they do exist.

    One thing I miss when in China are regional organic veggies.

    • maklu001 says:

      I’ve been to one all-you-can-eat sushi place in Guangzhou, but I just miss the familiar places that allow you to order kitchen items like gyoza, edamame, as well as sushi.

Leave a Reply

