Liebster Award

First, I want to thank Feifei over at Things on Feifei’s Mind for nominating me for a Liebster Award.

What is a Liebster Award? “The Liebster Blog Award is given to up and coming bloggers who have less than 200 followers. The Meaning: Liebster is German and means sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing and welcome.”

Every nominee who accepts the award has to answer 10 questions. Here are my answers to the questions Feifei asked.

1. What made you choose the life of an expat and/or traveler?

At first, I chose to move to Xi’an after college for one year, for several reasons. I studied abroad in China during the summer of 2007 for a three week intensive course. Our trip took us to Xi’an where we met an alum from my alma mater teaching at Xi’an International Studies University; his experiences coupled with his curious and quirky students, who challenged all my previous notions of what a Chinese student truly is, prompted me to want to give, what I thought to be, a rare opportunity a try. I met my husband (we just celebrated our Chinese ceremony, having registered our marriage on September 25) very early on in that first year and so one year became two, then three, and this coming June will round it off to a nice even four. In addition to my husband being a very substantial reason for staying, I’m attempting to learn Chinese in addition to seizing a rewarding opportunity to teach a plethora of courses: News Writing, Intercultural Communication, New Media, Expository Writing, rather than the standard Oral English and Listening & Speaking courses I taught in my first two years. Teaching survey courses has also caused me additional stress, because I take my job seriously.

2. What is one of your talents?

I’m not sure what one of my talents are, as it’s certainly cliche to say my writing. Almost anyone can manage to blog these days.

3. What is the greatest travel memory you have?

This is a tough question to answer, as I have a lot of good memories from my time abroad. I honestly think the two best trips have been with my sister. The first trip we took solo, and after my husband and I’s wedding ceremony took another trip with my husband and two friends. These two trips are my greatest memories because my sister was here to journey with me. The second trip is particularly memorable because of the activities we partook in. We traveled to Lijiang and Dali, finally having a chance to visit Tiger Leaping Gorge, as well as hiking Cangshan and bicycling around Erhai. I’m not normally an outdoorsy type, but the weather being as spectacular as it was, and the company, make it all the more worthwhile. I can’t wait to get around to doing a write-up about the “honeymoon” trip.

4. If you could give one piece of advice to someone who was thinking about expatriating, what would it be?

Think long and hard before jumping in. I mean this in the most pleasant way possible, as in do your research, learn the basics of your host country’s language in addition to some cultural norms, values, traditions, symbols etc.

5. Where do you see yourself in five years?

I see myself and my husband in the States. I hope to be working in journalism, whether that’s in a freelance, full-time, or part-time position. I’ve got far too many thoughts swirling around inside my head as far as what I’ll be doing in five years.

6. If you have some spare time, what do you do?

In my spare time I like reading, watching tv series and going to the gym. I find myself spending far too many hours on social media. My husband and I also regularly go out to eat or downtown for treats, window shopping, or just take a walk.

7. What is the most delicious food you have ever eaten?

I love eating, hence why I have to fit the gym into my spare time. My taste buds are always changing so I can’t say for sure what the most delicious food is, but I will name the top three foods I am almost always in the mood for. First, noodles, and it should most certainly be 面片儿。A close second is any kind of brunch items, including pancakes, french toast, over easy eggs, poached eggs, and eggs Benedict (you get the idea). Third, I’d have to say tanghulu, 糖葫芦。

8. Why did you start blogging?

I started blogging mostly to inform my friends and family back home about all my adventures in teaching and living in Xi’an. I’ve realized that this is also a place for me to discuss my intercultural marriage and relationship with my husband. Through my blog, I’ve had a great opportunity to meet many like-minded individuals and women in AMWF relationships.

9. What do you most miss from “home”?

I miss my family and friends most of all. My parents cooking is definitely a close second.

10. Post one of your favourite travel shots. (Not really a question, but I’m going to break the rules).

 I can’t take credit for my favorite travel shots since my husband is often the man behind the camera. All of these shots are from our most recent trip to Lijiang & Dali, aka the “honeymoon.”

I’m nominating the following three blogs:

China Elevator Stories

Down the Dragon Hole

Adventures Around Asia

Nominees, you must answer these ten questions:

1. What made you choose the life of an expat and/or traveler in China?

2. What are your top 3 places you want to visit in the future?

3. What is the greatest travel memory you have?

4. If you could give one piece of advice to someone who was thinking about expatriating, what would it be?

5. Where do you see yourself in five years?

6. If you have some spare time, what do you do?

7. What is the most delicious food you have ever eaten?

8. Why did you start blogging?

9. What do you miss most from “home”?

10. Which picture is your favourite travel shot? Why? (post the picture with your answer)

You must then nominate any number of your favourite blogs with less than 200 followers and let them know. 

You must come up with ten questions for your nominees to answer or you’re welcome to use the above questions. 

One thought on “Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

