Photo Essay

Blowing bubbles with Jason's nephews during Chinese New Year 2013.

Blowing bubbles with Jason’s nephews during Chinese New Year 2013.

 

Flowers just outside the apartment. Hydrangeas, possibly?

Flowers just outside the apartment. Hydrangeas, possibly?

 

I like this sequence of the next subsequent two photos following this one. This is 宁宁, one of Jason's two nephews. He's about 4.

I like this sequence of the next subsequent two photos following this one. This is 宁宁, one of Jason’s two nephews. He’s about 4.

 

He's telling me "how annoying I am." This phrase doesn't really equate to telling me I'm annoying; it's just a cute way kids express their annoyances without insult.

He’s telling me “how annoying I am.” This phrase doesn’t really equate to telling me I’m annoying; it’s just a cute way kids express their annoyances without insult.

 

He finally cooperated!

He finally cooperated!

 

Lanterns lit and cast into the sky, hoping for a year of good fortune. Some people will write their wishes on the lantern prior to casting it off.

Lanterns lit and cast into the sky, hoping for a year of good fortune. Some people will write their wishes on the lantern prior to casting it off.

 

One of many structures at the Big WIld Goose Pagoda's Happy Mall.

One of many structures at the Big WIld Goose Pagoda’s Happy Mall.

 

Jason made 煎饼, a crepe-like pancake which you fill with dishes such as julienned potatoes and pork & onions in a brown sauce (both pictured).

Jason made 煎饼, a crepe-like pancake which you fill with dishes such as julienned potatoes and pork & onions in a brown sauce (both pictured).

 

This photo is from last summer. It's my We Chat cover photo and I wanted to display it in this photo essay because I love the artsiness of it. Jason and I were at a cafe in Bangkok.

This photo is from last summer. It’s my We Chat cover photo and I wanted to display it in this photo essay because I love the artsiness of it. Jason and I were at a cafe in Bangkok.

 

The City Wall

The City Wall

 

A steady stream of cars near the old campus.

A steady stream of cars near the old campus.

 

Jason's eldest brother on the roof of his family's home.

Jason’s eldest brother on the roof of his family’s home.

 

The Big Wild Goose Pagoda

The Big Wild Goose Pagoda

 

The TV Tower in close proximity to the old campus where I live. It's a shame you can't see the mountains in this picture, but due to all that rain I've seen mountains twice in the last two weeks. That's a new record!

The TV Tower in close proximity to the old campus where I live. It’s a shame you can’t see the mountains in this picture, but due to all that rain I’ve seen mountains twice in the last two weeks. That’s a new record!

 

All photos are courtesy of my own personal photographer, 张健!

Leave a Reply

