My Latest Xiananigans

These were several weeks ago already, but as I haven’t utilized my camera in some time these are the “latest” Xiananigans.

Speech Competition

My welcoming speech. 
Yes, this was the audience. Some of the participants were my former or current students and I was really impressed with their ability to hold themselves together in front of such a large audience. 
The hosts. My current student Crystal and my former student Marcus. Marcus and I often have lunch together. He has invited Deanna and I to visit his home near Kunming during Deanna’s China adventure. 
Truly captivated by the student’s prepared speeches. 
Again, John and I cannot contain our excitement. 
Two of my students, Max & Felix singing their hearts out. 
Giving my final remarks. Encouraging the students to practice their English more, ways to practice, and complimenting the students who competed. Apparently, my supervisor and John were quite impressed with my public speaking abilities. John even remarked after I returned to my seat how surprised he was that I didn’t botch the whole thing. I am still the youngest teacher so he feels he is obligated to poke fun at me. 
All the contestants and judges. Lucy, second row, third from the right, is my supervisor. 

An Evening w/ Linda, Sara, & Sandro

Linda and I at 海底捞火锅 (Haidilao Hotpot). This is a chain of hotpot restaurants.  Hotpot is essentially a big pot filled with different kinds of boiling water in which you place various vegetables and meats, thus cooking them. I’d say the closest Western cooking method is fondue. We wanted to expand Sara’s chinese food horizons so we were accompanied by Sara and her boyfriend, Sandro, who was visiting from Italy. 
Sara, Linda, and I. The four of us (Sandro obviously included) went downtown for a drink after hotpot. It was quite a relaxing evening. 

One thought on “My Latest Xiananigans

  1. Linda says:

    Marissa, your friends are so good looking, wow! And they must be awesome (quoting urbandictionary.com)

    “Sara: A person who is very hot and has the greatest personality ever! In hebrew Sara means princess. There for you should treat her as if she was one! Sara is also a very irresistable person.”

    “Linda: Someone really amazing with a beautiful personality.
    She'll make you feel alive just by being with her and if you're lucky enough to encounter a Linda, tell her how you feel and don't miss out on the opportunity to be with a Linda! She'll soon be everything you wanted.”

    我爱你! (*.*)

Leave a Reply

