May Day Holiday

Last weekend, I had the pleasure of enjoying a four day weekend, thanks to a public holiday called Labor Day. Well, technically International Labor Day. Do we even celebrate this in the States? No, I don’t think so. May 1st was officially the holiday, but due to the kindness bestowed upon us by the central government, we also received Monday, May 2nd. This meant I had one less day of teaching this past week! Tine, Isabella, and I decided to spend the day together. We decided to visit Xiao Yanta (Small Wild Goose Pagoda) then venture over to Da Yanta (Big Wild Goose Pagoda) for lunch/dinner at Small World Cafe (Western food owned by a very nice Dutch lady). Thankfully, the weather was tolerable.

I can’t say that for the remainder of the week. I stayed at the new campus for lunch this week and my travels on the student bus were hardly tolerable. I am lucky I was able to procure a seat, others were not. The passengers who remained standing seemed like sardines packed tightly in their tin can (I don’t know why this simile came to mind as I don’t even like sardines). The majority of this week the temperature hovered around 29-31 degrees C (84-88 degrees F). Talk about sticking to my seat on the bus and the amount of odors ravaging my nose. Perhaps this is a good time to mention that although most Chinese do not have body odor SOME do, and it’s not pleasant. In addition to this wonderful revelation, I can also share with you the fact that most Chinese girls do not shave their legs or underarm hair. It doesn’t make for a pleasant experience.

Pictures from my May Day Holiday below:

Xiao Yanta (all the way on the right). I like this image because it exemplifies the one thing I love most about Xi’an: the juxtaposition between ancient and modern China. 
Playing with the color modes on my camera.
Great Chinglish (Chinese English) sign. It’s a little difficult to read: “Please not to trample, Small grass too contain life.” haha
A better view of Xiao Yanta. The Pagoda was ravaged several times by earthquakes, most recently the 2008 Sichuan earthquake. It was originally 14 stories and now only 9 remain. You can still go inside but we opted to save ourselves 30 RMB as it is not nearly as impressive as Da Yanta.

Next up for Xiananigans: My classes, homosexuality in China, and hopefully (if you send me some questions) a China Question & Answer entry. 

Leave a Reply

